Rotaract – Journey of a Decade

1 Jul


Rotaract from Sept 1999 – June 2010

This moth marked the end of my long journey of Rotaract. It has been fruitful 11yrs, looking back how I started all of these? It was all just about a dream — A dream that I have on myself.

Non of these were planed, Rotaract came into my life by chance (coincident), I was someone who is pretty introvert, shy and less initiative into doing things; but out of one fine day I start to realize I need to change some of these, then a friend came to me and share about chartering a new Rotaract Club in Penang. Without much hesitation, I joined in the team (RAC Tanjung Bungah) and began all the wonderful stories for the next 10yrs.

I still remember the first DRA I attended; it was organized by RAC Penang back in RY 2000 in xxx hotel (forgot the hotel nane but now it is called Hydro Majesty Hotel). I did not attend my first DRA as a participant but as a helper to the organizing committees due to some reason (in the other word I attended for FOC haha).

Further to my first district exposure I then attended one of my life’s changing seminars – RYLA 2000

There was the first and only time for me to travel to Termeloh, Pahang. RYLA 2000 was organizing in a wild life protection center facility which located in the middle of the jungle. I have learned so much in this 5D4N seminar which embraces myself toward Rotary / Rotaract for the following decade.

I then become very active in Rotaract, representing my club to attend Rotary projects, district events (interact district conference, rotaract district conference, rotaract district assembly, district board meeting [on my club president behalf by then] & etc). There was where I have the opportunities to learn massive rotaract knowledge (protocol, procedures, by-laws & constitutions) and all the precious soft and hard skills.

During RY2003/04, i accepted one of the biggest challenges in my rotaract career, to become the Club President of RAC Tanjung Bungah. All my learning for the past couple of years have put into test, one important fact I do learn is running a rotaract club is far more challenging than running a company. With the best efforts from the teams, Rotaract of Tanjung Bungah was awarded the Presidential Citation Awards & World Rotaract Week reorganization awards from Rotary International (RI). And we have signed our first ever sister club – Rotaract Club of Ulm, Germany D1930.

After my presidency, I continue to pull my focus to develop RAC Tg. Bungah and also partially involving in some Rotaract District responsibility, as the days goes by my roles and responsibility begin to get heavier, from being invited as panel speaker for district rotaract conference, as a Group Discussion Leader during district rotaract assembly, chairing the 23rd District Rotaract Assembly and be part of the organizing committees for the biggest Rotaract International event ever held by Rotaract District 3300 – the 4th Asia Pacific Regional Rotaract Conference (APRRC).

Finally I ended up in another biggest challenge, elected to be District Rotaract Representative (DRR) during RY2008/09.

All of these were not just flashy encounters, the process were full of tears and sweats, being persistent, fortitude and resilient. I have gained a lot from the process and in the meantime I also have to give away something that I would never able to recover….no scarify no victory (sad quote).

Earning the friendships in the Rotary / Rotaract circle is the indispensable achievement I will ever achieved. I am so amaze that all the great people I have meet all these years, learning all the great stuffs from their incredible personnel’s characters.

So the question is what next? Moving to Rotary?

I know I should be joining Rotary……………but it just not the next move I would like to get myself into right at this moment. Someday I would, I promise..

Presence Statistic @ Rotaract

Rotary District 3300

Rotary District Assembly – Seremban, N. Sembilan

Rotary District Conference – Ipoh, Perak

Rotaract District 3300

District Rotaract Assembly (DRA) – 9 times

District Rotaract Conference (DRC) – 7 times

Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (RYLA) – Termeloh, Pahang

International Events

Asia Pacific Regional Rotaract Conference (APRRC) – 2 times

  • 4th APRRC Melaka, Malaysia 2007 (Organizing Committee)
  • 5th APRRC Bali, Indonesia 2008

2008 District Good Will Visit to Taiwan District 3500

Interota 2008 – Seoul, South Korea

2009 International Rotary Youth Leadership Awards (IRYLA) – Coton House, Ruby, England

2009 Rotary International Convention – Birmingham, England

One Response to “Rotaract – Journey of a Decade”

  1. get over your ex July 26, 2010 at 13:53 #

    Some surfers just don’t get it, like my coworker who couldn’t see the practical intention of this line on your article “…. It has been fruitful 11yrs, looking back how I started all of these… It was all just about a dream &#…” this is it, you just nailed it down pal.

Leave a Reply

